The SCTAA met on February 23, 2009 with 33 in attendance including 3 visitors.Two families joined: Carter Mahaffee with daughter Ryleigh and Chris Phillips with son Jake .The club program was an overview of the operation of and differences in a number of detector brands:Whites, Tesoro, Fisher, Bounty Hunter and Minelab.

In answer to a question from last month's program about the approximate number of points it takes to win our yearly contests: 2008 Treasure Finder winners had 156, 142, 113, 110 and 97 points.The 2008 Treasure Hunter winners had 225, 200, 190, 155 and 145 points.

Clem McNure won the raffle for a gold 2-peso and Roy Evans won a cap with the SCTAA logo.NOTE: We have around 10 more ball caps for sale at $11.They are black with the SCTAA logo.The treasury ended with $658.24.

*Upcoming Event:2009 Treasure Expo & Trade Show at Myrtle Beach, SC April 4 & 5 at Springmaid Resort and FMDAC Silver Bash (2 Hunts) Entry fee $50 per hunt :registration

underway. Hotel rates are as follows: Springmaid Resort costs $110 and up per night;The Landmark Resort cost for both nights including taxes and fees starts at $94.17 and up; The Gazebo Inn costs around $50 per night and up.This weekend will be the start of spring break for many schools.I hope our club will have a good turnout for this event.Hopefully, we can get together for hunting and a meal or two as a group.

Our next meeting will be March 23 at 7:15 p.m.Please note that March has 5 Mondays, but we always meet on the 4th Monday of the month.


Click Here for pictures.


1st - Thomas Wilson;

2nd - Darrell Mullinax;

3rd - TIE - Maggie Moffat (won the coin toss) and Haskell Staton


1st - Maggie Moffat

2nd - TIE - Darrell Mullinax (won the coin toss)

and Gerald Hutchinson


1st - Darrell Mullinax

2nd - Chris Phillips

3rd - TIE - Robert Weaver

(won coin toss) and Thomas Wilson


1st - Darrell Mullinax

2nd - Haskell Staton

(no votes for 3rd place)


1st - Darrell Mullinax

2nd - TIE - Robert Weaver (won the coin toss)

and Maggie Moffat


1st - Maggie Moffat (724)

2nd - Clem McNure (248)

3rd - Darrell Mullinax (89)

Rebecca Reece, Secretary/Treasurer